RSS

Does nothing like it says on the tin

10 Nov

In my current affairs lecture this morning our lecturer started with his usual routine of putting up an overhead detailing the life of some famous and dead media academic. Today I didn’t spend too long in the class. This is meant to be a current affairs diary but lately all I have been doing is writing about media theorists that are no longer alive.

In the DCU prospectus it describes the aim of the module is “To deepen and evaluate student’s knowledge of current affairs in a number of key areas other than politics and law, e.g. the economy, the environment, social inclusion, international affairs, sport, science and technology, gender issues and racism. To give students knowledge of basic journalism writing techniques used in writing about current Affairs.”

This is probably one of the modules I most looked forward to. I have had a thirst for current affairs as long as I can remember, and even before I was 10 years old I was reading the newspaper. I keenly tuned into the 6 o clock news with my grandparents while eating my dinner from a young age. I was 6 when the Berlin Wall fell, I remember watching Nelson Mandela been freed from prison and Mary Robinson been sworn in as Irelands first female President.

I look back over my lecture notes and my learning diary and there is nothing current. I’m disappointed by the fact that it wasn’t “exactly as it says on the tin”. This morning when I was presented with an overhead which was a biography of some dead guy my feelings boiled over. I decided to raise my frustrations with our lecturer Mr Eddie Holt.

I asked what have all these dead guys he has been talking about for the last few weeks got to do with current affairs. He said they were media theorists and that their work helps to make better sense of the world today. That would be almost understandable except for the fact that he never offers any context, and that was the next point I raised.

The lecturer started to get flustered, perhaps it would have been wiser to speak to him in his office instead of undermining his authority, but then again he does a good job of that himself by constantly saying, “I don’t know”.

I do admit I can over step the mark at times, my brain often fails to register social rules which are adhered to. I then informed my lecturer that the lecture was boring, a waste of time and that I only attended because I was required to sign my name to earn marks. He responded by saying I could leave if I want which I promptly did.

When I left I hear he asked the class if anyone agreed with me and nobody said a word. Silence says enough I think. Speaking to people later on they all said that they agreed with me. People from the class that I didn’t know who saw me round campus approached me to say they agreed.

So where does one go from here? Well I have to attend class next week to give a presentation and I will probably arrange a meeting with the lecturer. What I have learned from today however is that I can be a good journalist, better than others taking this module. The lecturer has said so to me in the past.

Journalism is about speaking your mind and standing up for what you believe in, speaking out against injustices and uncovering problems in society without fear of reprisal for the good of the public. I think, In a small way, I did that today.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2010 in Dublin City University

 

12 responses to “Does nothing like it says on the tin

  1. Chuckulz

    November 22, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    “Journalism is about speaking your mind and standing up for what you believe in, speaking out against injustices and uncovering problems in society without fear of reprisal for the good of the public. I think, In a small way, I did that today.”

    No, what you actually did was humiliate a much older and ill man. Fine work.

     
    • Paul M Brady

      November 23, 2010 at 5:31 am

      I just said what every1 thinks and i am not afraid to speak my mind, if i hava an issue with somebody i will saw it to there face, if he is ill he shouldnt be teaching and been ill is no excuse for wasting most of our semester

       
  2. Chuckulz

    November 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    You can’t state that you said “what every1 thinks” because you cannot speak for everybody in that room. As for your claim that anyone you have spoken to has backed you up, I can tell you that I have spoken to plenty of people who have vehemently disagreed with your actions.

    As for whether or not he is fit to be teaching, that is not your decision to make or enforce in the reprehensible way that you did.

     
    • Paul M Brady

      November 28, 2010 at 9:12 am

      oh grow up, seriously lecturers stand up to teach they are also there to question what they are teaching. class reps from JR, CCS and CS all complained to their programme boards about the module because students on their course where unhappy with the class and that had nothing to do with me I never wnet whinging to a class rep If i have a problem with some1 i wil say it to their face anonymous person.

       
  3. Marilyn

    November 23, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I don’t know where you got the absurd notion that you spoke for “every1” (and you think you’d make a better journalist than others in your class?) in that room. You certainly didn’t speak for everyone who has been taught Eddie Holt. I’ve also spoken to people in your class who were replused by you and your actions.

    People who had never previously heard of you now know you as an arrogant attention-seeker who, as Chucklez says, humilated an old and ill man, for no real reason.

    If you genuinely had a problem with him, this was far from the way of dealing with it. I would also like to point out that I have spoken to columnists and reporters from Irish dailies and Sunday papers who say that Holt taught them all they know.

    I doubt you would treat any other lecturer the way you treated Holt. Perhaps you thought you could be a big man because he doesn’t confront people and because he is an older man than some of the other lecturers?

     
    • Paul M Brady

      November 28, 2010 at 9:26 am

      Well anonymous person class reps from JR, CCS and CS all complained to their programme boards about the module because students on their course where unhappy with the class and that had nothing to do with me I never went whinging to a class rep If i have a problem with some1 i wil say it to their face.

      Have u spoken to Eddie?Did he tell you he was humiliated?Grow up and welcome to the real world, I spoke to Eddie few days later and he didnt mention that he was humiliated, he said i was entitlted to express my views and that i was one of the only people in the class that ever said anything. He then went on to tell my about the crisis in journalism these days and the lack of jobs but said he thought i would get a job in journalism.

      PAst successes in teaching is no reason to continue teaching if you are no longer up to the task, Pele and maradonna were to of the greatest footballers ever but u dont see chelsea or man united trying to sign them now.

      You say im an arrogant attention seeker?well thanks for the compliment. As Oscar Wilde said they only thing worse then been talked about is not been talked about. I always question all my lecturers on what is going on in class. I didnt come to DCU to sit quiet with my arms folded or gossiping with the peole beside me about the mad night I had out last night.

       
  4. Yolando

    November 23, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Victimising an old man wasn’t journalism, it was cruelty and made everyone in the room highly uncomfortable. Perhaps Eddie Holt wasn’t the best lecturer, but the manner in which you chose to let him know this was unprofessional and unbelievably childish. It is sad to think that a “man” of twenty seven craves attention so much as to pull a stunt like that. You should be ashamed of yourself.

    P.S. Your grammar, punctuation and spelling is shit.

     
    • Paul M Brady

      November 28, 2010 at 9:09 am

      victimising? asking a lecturer the relevance of what there teaching is victimising?people need to grow up,welcome to the real world, its a blog, thoughts and musings, grammar, puntuation and spelling is not a concern when im just spouting shit from my head anonymous person

       
  5. Passerby

    November 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Not impressed. Bragging at the end doesn’t add to your cause, either.

     
    • Paul M Brady

      November 28, 2010 at 9:05 am

      ha what cause?

       
      • Chuckulz

        November 30, 2010 at 1:32 am

        All this “anonymous person” mudslinging is hilarious. If you’d like to know who I am, just ask. Although it would be nice if you could do so in a coherant sentence.

         
      • Paul M Brady

        November 30, 2010 at 3:24 am

        I dont care who you are you can say what you like. I shall wear your attacks as a badge of honour.

         

Leave a Reply

 
